Considering...

Kootenanny

Hi, all. New here.

I'm considering an RC390 as my next purchase. I've been riding for a long time (hell, I was a riding instructor in the 80s) and I've always owned either standards or sportbikes (definitely not a cruiser guy). Current bikes are a 2003 Buell XB9R Firebolt and a Yamaha XT225 dual-sport.

I live in an area known for good backroads (it's a popular riding destination). I love the Buell--it's a fantastic bike for this area--but hey, it's over a decade old now and, with all the drama at Buell and now EBR, basic parts are getting harder to find. Currently, the bike is in the garage waiting for me to get off my ass and do some work on it, but...

Anyway, I'm debating another option. I've said for years that I value handling over raw horsepower (hey, I own a Buell), and when the RC390 came along was interested. I rode one at a KTM demo day 2 years ago (spring 2015), and loved it. However, that was one short ride under tightly controlled conditions; I've never really been able to let loose on one of these.

I guess my question for this forum is what you think of the RC390 for a rider like myself. Main use would be dayrides on local rural backroads in the mountans. I like to "carry" my speed through the corners, as opposed to "point and shoot" riding--I like to keep momentum flowing. On occasion, I like to take trips on the bike, ranging from a couple of days to several weeks (I did a wonderful 3-week trip from BC to Norcal and back, several years ago, on my Buell)--would the RC390 be capable of carrying some soft luggage for a longer trip like this? How does it do on larger, faster freeways (I do my best to avoid them, but sometimes you just can't)?