custom exhaust improvement (?)

Hello

I will make later a complete post about the story what I'm doing on my RC but here is a specific topic about the exhaust :

My background is :
- I use mainly the bike on track, but want to keep it almost street legal for potential use on road.
- I HATE the noise of the stock exhaust (2015)
- I like to have the small muffler behind the engine and not a side mounted, for aesthetic reasons, for originality, and because it's less exposed in case of crash (I lay down quite often on track)
- I want better deep noise, but I'm not looking for more decibels
- To get extra horse power would be great, even if this is not the main motivation of change. At least, I don't want to loose anything but kilograms
- I don't want to buy fancy efficient great performance parts, for cost reasons, but also mainly because I have more pleasure to try and build my own thing that making a money transfer to a dealer.
- I love the theoretical approach, calculations, and engineering analyze

So I have in stock an old Termignoni muffler, from Ducati performance application, without catalyst, but with a removal db killer. It has a good shape to be integrated in the bike, with exhaust flow in ground direction.
IMG_20180821_205215.jpg

At your point of view is there any drawback to this mounting? It will probably not be compatible with OEM belly pan, but this is not a killer.

I'm building now the connection to the original header pipe.
IMG_20180821_205202.jpg

Most tricky part will be the bracket... but I will see...

Last edited:
For the moment, I keep the original header and looking at it... it's quite bad.
The junction between cylinder hear and header pipe is dramatically bad :
Header pipe starts with a BIG solder join that reduce diameter by more that 2 mm :
IMG_20180819_191812.jpg

This is easy to solve with a "dremel" :

enhance

Last edited:
The exhaust port is also very restricted :