New KTM club member

WannaGoFast

Hey Everyone, my name is Dan. I live in Ontario Canada.

Recently just purchased my first ever KTM. Picked up a brand new 2017 RC390 here on clear out from a local dealer. As it's still cold and snowy where I am I havn't had it out on the road yet, but excited for the spring! Doing my research on first service and break in.

I started riding in 2012. Since then I've had several bikes. I started on a 2013 Ninja 300, next rode a 2006 CBR600rr, then a 2012 Ninja 650. Definitely partial to Kawi bikes, but excited to see what this punchy little single can do. I missed the light weight of this class.

Nice meeting you all.

josefmd

Country flag
Welcome!! Congrats on the new bike. Did you ever consider the new Ninja 400 since you are such a Kawi guy? My go to dealer sells both KTM and Kawi, so it makes it really tough to decide between the two.

WannaGoFast

I did, and to be honest the Ninja was my first choice. The deciding factor was that the 17' KTM was on clear out from my dealer. I saved over 1k on the bike compared to the Ninja, and the insurance for a ninja would be 50% (400-500 per year) more. That's just the way motorcycle insurance is where I live.

Rode the bike home from the dealer today. It was about 8 degrees celsius.

Few first Impressions -

Honestly, the KTM feels a little cheap. I'm not sure if it's that I'm stepping down from a 650 to a 390... Obviously I'm used to a more "solid" feel, but it did.
The fan comes on a lot at slow speeds, and it's noisy. When moving it was off, but even in cool weather after riding for a bit the fan was on at every stop.
Had some trouble with the gear indicator. More than a few times instead of showing which gear I was in, the bike showed a dash - ... Mostly when changing gears into stopping at a light. Will figure it out.
The bike itself feels a little clunky. Gear changes feel a little rough.
The posture is more agressive than I expected. Not a bad thing, just was.