Digital Tach Readout Question vs. Movement of the Bar

commandodave

Is it me or does the "Combination Instrument" display lack a digital indication of the RPM? First, I am new to my RC 390 and i am just finding some things out. However, I cannot figure out the way to display the RPM in a digital mode. Yes, I see the analog bar increase in length as the RPMs rise. But I cannot associate a given engine speed with a given length of the bar across the display. If I am not to exceed 7000 RPM during break in, how can I determine when the engine is spinning at 7K? Please don't tell me to set the idiot lights at 6900 and 7000 RPM.

reenmachine

Country flag
The shift light is set low from the factory for the break-in period. There's no numeric readout of RPM, just the bar, and if you look closely there are numbers along the bar to tell you what RPM the length corresponds to. They're tiny and impossible to read while riding, but they're there.

You're not going to blow anything up by exceeding 7000 RPM here and there during break-in. In fact, some (myself included) routinely go to the limiter as part of a structured hard break-in procedure.

If you're concerned about it, find the 7k mark on the bar tach and put a sticker or brightly-colored piece of tape there to make it easier to see at a glance.

commandodave

Thanks! Now I don't feel so bad about not being able to find a digital readout. I also believe in bumping the allotted RPMs every now and then. Or "blowing the soot off the plugs" as when we were kids! I didn't see anything in the manual about an electronic cutout if the absolute RPM limits are reached. Does the RC 390 have one? If so, what is the magic number? I bounced off of the limiter more than once with my Aprilia Futura and Honda CBR. Thankfully my Aprilia RS 50 does not have valves or the top end would be all over the street.

Treachery

Country flag
Can I interest you in some bifocals for that tiny tachometer font?