Diy Quickshifter using Arduino uno

jassim313

Hey guys this is my first post here .I was thinking of making a Quick Shifter for my bike using a pressure sensor and the widely used micro controller Arduino uno .The pressure sensor will be attached to the gear lever .This is how i want it to work ,When the pressure sensor on the gear lever reach a certain threshold ,a signal would be send to the micro controller to cut off the ignition for few milliseconds ,say (60 ms) .When the sensor is back at the normal level it will enable the ignition again .The output ports of Arduino uno can send only 5v signals .So the 5v signal must trip a relay which is in NC position to NO.Im a noob when it comes to electronics .Could anyone please help in making the project. Thanks .;)

SneakyOwl

If you are a "noob with electronics", wouldn't it just be much wiser to buy a done-deal quickshifter from Dynojet or something?

shreeshar7

Hey,
There are several parameters u need to be looking at,when building a quickshifter.
If you want it to work properly you'll also need to be drawing signal from the ckp(crank position sensor) , this is necessary because the bike needs different kill times (cut off time) at different rpms for a smooth shift.

U can intercept the wire that goes to ht coil and wire it through the 5v relay.
The shift rod has to be cut /shortened so that u can fit the pressure sensor in-between.
The whole quickshifter circuit has to be through the clutch lever switch so that i disables while you're using clutch.

If you do it without ckp signals, it might not give u smooth shifts at all rpms.
Good luck.

reenmachine

Country flag
Hey,
There are several parameters u need to be looking at,when building a quickshifter.
If you want it to work properly you'll also need to be drawing signal from the ckp(crank position sensor) , this is necessary because the bike needs different kill times (cut off time) at different rpms for a smooth shift.