Handlebar Clip-ons repair

Tharre

So I crashed today, and the clip-on on the left side of the bike broke off.

I figured I just need to order part 90802005000, but I'm unsure how to get the thing off. I removed the 2 screws (number 6 and 15 if you look at the diagram on sparepartsfinder) but it just won't budge. Do I have to remove something else or is raw force really all that's needed?

Related, I unscrewed the bolt that goes to the fork, to see if that makes any difference, however it made a weird 'plop' sound. Is that part supposed to be under a partial vacuum and do I need to vent the air from it again?

I'd post pictures, but it's already too dark to see anything on them unfortunately. And sorry for the many questions, I am new to motorcycles.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: That's the part if you don't know what I'm talking about:

IMG_20161009_193728254.jpg

Last edited:

chrisdigital21

So I crashed today, and the clip-on on the left side of the bike broke off.

I figured I just need to order part 90802005000, but I'm unsure how to get the thing off. I removed the 2 screws (number 6 and 15 if you look at the diagram on sparepartsfinder) but it just won't budge. Do I have to remove something else or is raw force really all that's needed?

Related, I unscrewed the bolt that goes to the fork, to see if that makes any difference, however it made a weird 'plop' sound. Is that part supposed to be under a partial vacuum and do I need to vent the air from it again?

I'd post pictures, but it's already too dark to see anything on them unfortunately. And sorry for the many questions, I am new to motorcycles.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: That's the part if you don't know what I'm talking about:

View attachment 3077

Thread the allen screw back into the inside end on the clip-on, about half way and tap it with a small hammer. it is a interference fit. tap the Allen head screw to force the piece out.

Last edited:

Tharre

That worked like a charm! Thanks!