I put oil in coolant tank

mmk

Ok this is super embarrassing, but I thought I needed to add coolant, because when looking at reservoir, it looked empty.
I quickly grabbed a quart I had on the bench, thinking it was coolant, because I remember buying some and I thought that's where I set it.
Very dumb, yes I did not even look at the label, because in my mind, I thought that's the bottle of coolant I bought.

To my horror, after maybe pouring 1/4 quart, I realized it was oil.... yes, probably 10 whole seconds before my brain said "WAIT, THAT'S NOT GREEN!!"

I did some preliminary research, but I really wanted advice of fellow RC 390 owners....the procedure I need to do to flush this out.

I have never worked on a bike before, but I can follow instructions. Do I take that tube off the bottom side of the reservoir, or is the drain lower?

Ironically, I got warranty work done last fall, because an O-ring failed and caused coolant to mix with the oil. Now I pull this boneheaded move. :(

ReidMcT

Premium Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Country flag
I think I would see if I could just suction it out through the filler. I expect the oil will be floating on the surface of the coolant, and I imagine you could get 99% or more of it out without much trouble. Any remainder will do no harm that I can think of.

ReidMcT

Premium Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Country flag
And if you really want to clean it completely, remove it and wash it with an emulsifier such as Simple Green.

Last edited:

John390

if you never ran the engine, don't!! Period. Do not start it.