New RC owner first ride impressions

rompus

I bought my 2016 RC a few weeks ago and picked it up yesterday. A quick background on me, I have been riding street motorcycles since 1978 and have owned many. Unlike many guys my age I prefer sport bikes and was intrigued by the KTM when they first came out . I believe excessive horsepower can be over rated on the street. My personal opinion is that you need no more than 70 hp, although I have owned and do own some with more than that. I did a lot of research before pulling the trigger and weighed the good and bad. Based on what I read if this was my only bike and did not own others I would not buy it. Since I have the luxury of other bikes I can ride if she breaks down, I have other options. I realize that is not a glowing endorsement .The first thing I did was take off passenger pegs saved about 5 pounds . I understand that the bike is breaking in so I am taking that into account. My first problem is the handlebars, I feel they are way too wide. On a bike this size you don't need a lot of handlebar leverage to throw it around. Also it sits too upright for me, since I have a Ducati 748 this thing feels very upright. I will be working on making it more race like. God those mirrors are horrendous, they totally take away the sleek look, I will be eliminating them and do something I really don't like and put handlebar mirrors on. I rode today in 40 degree weather and again I know it is breaking in so friction is high but boy it runs hot, SPAL upgrade on the books.The upshifting sucks, a lot of missed gears. I admit I am a lazy shifter and typically don't clutch to upshift but it would not go in 3rd gear easily. I am again assuming it is breaking problems, would love to hear other thoughts, maybe adjust the shift lever, I had to take my foot off the shifter sometimes to get enough force.The tach gauge is really bad, way to small ( I realize i am old but my vision is 20/15),I am going to put a piece of tape at the 7500 breaki