Private Photos Used for advertising

Just wondering does anyone know what the deal is when you post a photo on a forum etc.. In this case my RC 390 showing a fuel pipe on it in front of my personal home - And then when I was looking through E-bay I have noticed an Indian based seller has used the photo of my
bike in front of my house and has - photo shopped "RED BULL" Graphics kits for sale on international Ebay ? Not happy - Anyone know if this is legal? Thanks

Formula390

Supporting Vendor
Vendor
Country flag
Max you can do is report it to eBay. Not much else, since the pic is in public domain. I could be wrong tho.

Just because a pic is posted online does NOT mean it's "in the public domain." The term "public domain" is the key there. That's a VERY specific legal meaning. Photos posted online aren't "free" to use however one might want just because they found it online. Aside from being a fabricator, I'm also a professional photographer (MidnightFantasy Photography is my website, which is NSFW for quite a bit of it, so if you browse over just be warned...) so this is something that most photographers have studied WAY too much and have learned more about IP laws than we'd likely ever want to have to. LOL In any event, Kwik, the photo as you posted it is still owned by you and others would either have to license it's use, or take it down. If they are LINKING to your original photo, problem solved. Move it and the link will break. If they have uploaded it to eBay, then you just need to contact them and have the listing taken down. The key phrase there is three litlte words: "Cease and Desist" The legal term for "Knock it the hell off before further legal matters are taken. That TYPICALLY is enough to get someone to stop using your photo. Not always, but usually. You can also try to invoice them for the usage. To win anything through judgement, it has to be proven that their use caused you a financial loss. As you aren't using the image for sales yourself, that wou