Hey from DFW Texas, wow I'm kinda worried now!

TennisFreak

Hey all I am a new owner here in DFW, Texas.

I was super pumped to buy this bike for taking to the track and then I started reading this forum, and some other things on the web, and realize this bike seems to have tons of QC problems!

Now I am almost second guessing my purchase and wondering if I should go trade this thing for a Yamaha R3 (which was my second choice).

A little info about me:

Upper 30's with 3 kids.
Computer programmer.
Own a Kawasaki ZX-10R and a Yamaha Vino 125.
Previously owned a Suzuki GSXR-600 and a Husky TE310. Took both to their respective "track" environments and had tons of fun.

I've been riding for 3 years now and probably have about 7000 miles of seat time on street bikes.
I did a track day a few years ago and loved it.

So I figured that buying this KTM as a dedicated track bike would be perfect. From what I had read it was pretty much ready for the track from the showroom floor and made a great little bike for the track.

unicorn_violence

well i will say that you only hear from people that are having issues with the bike, and never ones who aren't. while there are definitely some QC issues with the bike, its really a hit or miss. i have yet to encounter any issues with the bike besides some sealant worms in the oil screens, which isn't really an issue. there are plenty of other owners that haven't had any issues either. it is a cheap bike however so you might find loose bolts every now and then. keep in mind other bikes in this segment are also built on the cheap side (r3 just had a recall for its triple clamp snapping during riding).

TennisFreak

Good to know.

So far I have about 200 miles on it and they have all been an absolute blast!

One question I have is does everyone front caliper seem to "whine" when pressing the brake?