Rear shock is crap

Rodolfo

I am no expert rider,

Some what of a fast intermediate, but yesterday I had my first track day on the bike and I can tell you 2 things.

The rear shock is total crap, and the brakes need more initial bite, maybe solved just with some lines and pads.

I am in setting 9 in the rear shock, and I only weight 165 lbs, and it feels like I was on my grandma rocking chair. Apart from being a really crappy rear shock, I think the issue with it being right on top of the exhaust, does afect it.

I did 3 sessions and it started sagging alot, unsetteling the front. Well that is what I felt.

Anyone know any kind of fix, like putting some shims or something to make it stiffer. I dont what to buy a 700 shock, I might as well had bought an R6 for that money.

Thanks

guzz46

I would of thought you would be right in the ball park weight wise, I'm about 160 lbs in street clothes, and my rear sag is spot on, the shock is on position 7, I tried it on position 10 for a short period, but it was too skittish and unforgiving, it's no Ohlins shock, but I'm happy with it.

Rodolfo

Just placed ir on setting 9 of preload

And after 3 sessions it started feeling really soft and i felt that the sagging was making The front kínd of light

Maybe by placing some spacers it can be corrected a bit

Anyone have any input on cheap solutions?

guzz46

If you haven't already, try raising the forks above the top yoke up to the second ring, the front should feel planted after doing that, I would also try the rear shock on position 7, I believe it needs at least 10mm of static sag for it to perform at its best.

Chris The Welder